About me

In my childhood, my father (an engineer himself) used to bring me all different kinds of building block toy kits and take me to places like river dam, an electricity generation plant and even a copper mine! The toys - almost all come with a manual inside, having a how-to on models you can make with the kit. Following the manual to build something never used to be the first thought. Instead, I used to give my imagination full freedom with the blocks and used to build something which'd even surprise the today's me.

All that childhood with such toys, TV shows on Nat Geo and Discovery and the exposure I got because of my parents grew my interest towards engineering and science rapidly enough that at a moment, I had planned everything about who I want to be and what I want to do. I was still a child. :P

When I was in 7th standard, my parents got me a home tutor. His name is Imroz Noor and I call him Imroz sir. Of the 1hr/day he was at my home teaching, half of the time was spent in discussing about science, technology and stuff which was totally unrelated to my academics. Imroz sir first told me about IITs in India. That they're the most prestigious institutes in the country. And my reply to him was - Okay! I'll be studying in an IIT then! And so my journey to IIT began. On June 11, 2017, when I saw my result. I can say that it was the day when a dream, one of the best teachers of my had showed me came to life. Currently, I'm a 3rd year Electrical Engineering undergraduate at IIT Mandi.

I am very much interested in the fields of A.I. and robotics and aspire to be a researcher in the same. Read more about me below..

Profile
  • Full Name
    Akshat Malviya

  • Date of Birth
    August 14, 1998

  • Location
    Mandi, Himachal Pradesh

  • Phone
    +918219164783

  • Email
    malviyakshat@gmail.com

Experience
  • Web Developer, IIT Mandi Catalyst, IIT Mandi
    Developed and maintained the webpage for the first ever edition of IIT Mandi Catalyst's event - Himalayan Innovation Challenge (HIC)
    (March, 2019 - May, 2019)

  • Coordinator, Robotronics Club, IIT Mandi
    Robotronics Club - Robotics + Electronics Club, IIT Mandi.
    (June, 2018 - June, 2019)

  • Core Member, Various Clubs
    Including Programming Club, Space Technology and Astronomy Cell, Music Club, Designauts - Design Club, IIT Mandi.
    (January, 2018 - Present)
Education
  • B.Tech. in Electrical Engineering
    Currently pursuing my bachelor's degree from Indian Institute of Technology, Mandi (H.P.), 2017-2021

  • Senior Secondary Graduation
    Completed my +2 from N.J.N. Adarsh Hi. Sec. School, Mandla (M.P.), 2015-2016

  • High School Graduation
    Completed my high school graduation from Montfort Se. Sec. School, Mandla (M.P.), 2002-2014
Achievements
  • Runner-Up - Capture the Stone
    Secured 2nd position in this intra-college Capture The Flag (CTF) event, held in Utkarsh 2017, intra-college technical festival, IIT Mandi.

  • Winner - Website Design Competition by STAC
    Made the website for the Space Technology and Astronomy Cell (STAC), IIT Mandi in a competition, to encourage open-source and space technology. See projects for full info.

  • Winner - District level Music Competition
    As a Tabla player, secured first position in a district level Music competition held in Mandla (M.P.)
Skills

Following are some of the my skills. Apart from these, I know OpenCV, scikit-learn & MATLAB.
My communication skills include knowing English, Hindi and elementary level German.

Programming

School first introduced me to the LOGO programming language, the one where you make a turtle figure move with the help of programmed instructions. Gradually I got to know about languages like C and C++ and got interested in programming. I like software development and have tried my hands on mobile development with React Native. I occasionally do competitive programming as well! Checkout my codechef and codeforces profile to know more.

Because of this interest in programming, getting introduced to Artificial Intelligence, be it via the Internet, books or movies, its sub-domains - Machine learning and Deep learning quickly caught my interest. Currently I'm taking Andrew Ng's courses on the same.

  • 60%
  • 90%
  • 65%
  • 70%
Web & Graphic Design

I know HTML/CSS3. Materializecss for material design, Twitter's Bootstrap are some of the CSS frameworks I've worked on.

I've developed a couple of websites with my peers in college. I've worked on Jekyll, and am familier with nodejs.

I know Adobe Photoshop, GIMP & Inkscape.
Event posters, backdrops, T-shirt design and logo design are some of the design projects I've done in the past.

  • 50%
  • 90%
  • 80%
  • 60%
  • 65%
Projects

Here's a list of the projects that I have done in the past or am currently working on.

Web Design

I've done a few web design projects for various clubs in my college - IIT Mandi.

  • Website - Space Technology and Astronomy Cell (STAC), IIT Mandi

    Check it out here: https://stac-iitmandi.github.io/

    Built primarily using Materializecss material design framework, I did this project as an individual in STAC's website design competition.


  • Website - KamandPrompt, IIT Mandi

    Check it out here: https://kamandprompt.github.io/

    Website of KamandPrompt - Programming Club, IIT Mandi. A group project I did with my peers.


  • resKeep - Firefox browser extension

    Check it out here: https://github.com/akshat157/resKeep/

    A browser extension I'm currently working on. Built using Javascript while learning Javascript DOM. Helps in keeping important links and notes as a browser extension.

Robotics

Following are the robotics and electronics projects I've done till now.

  • Selfie - The self balancing robot

    Check it out here: selfie_report.pdf

    A group project I did with my peers in Aavishkar 2018, an academic-technical event held as a part of the IC161P-Applied Electronics Practicum course. It's a two wheeled self balancing robot, built on Raspberry Pi platform (python). Employs - MPU6050 6-axis gyroscopic sensor, DC motors and an L298N motor driver, all placed in a custom built hard board chassis.

Stuff I like

Apart from the technical interests, I like music, gaming, travelling and photography as well. I learned to play tabla in my school days and am 2 years short of a Diploma in the same. I recently started playing counter-strike global offensive (find me on steam - ancientfuture_) and have travelled the better part of the country, courtesy of my father.

Know me better or the music I like by connecting with me. Following are the methods...

Contact me

I love to talk! Connect with me via any of the following ways. :)

Find me here
  • B10 Dashir hostel, North Campus
    Indian Institute of Technology, Mandi,
    Himachal Pradesh, India